Day 252

RANDOM FACT – I see to have some semi-nice timing at times.

Weigh in – 195.2 (not even joking you.  I hit that today .. exact.)

Total lost – 140 pounds

Picture –

My grandma Lois with all of her grandkids.

Last night I went for a walk, and I decided I would just make it a visit trip as well walking up to grandma’s nursing home and back.  When I got there I found my aunt, and all or her kids (my only cousins from that side) and my sister.  She had all of her grandkids in the same room for the first time since June.  We talked with her for a while, had her smiling and rolling her eyes (like old times).  She was alert .. and very much aware of everything that was going on.

We got into an argument about who was her favorite grandkid, and I maintained that since I am the oldest I must be the favorite.  We asked Grandma who was the real favorite, and she said that loves us all the same and smiled.

Anyway, we sat around the table with her while she ate, and when she was done, I decided we needed a picture.  The above is the picture we took, and I wanted to share.

One thing that walk did for me was throw my body right into line with where I wanted and needed to be.  I woke up late this morning, and quickly weighed myself .. and that stopped me in my tracks.  I hit the 140 .. exactly.  I weighed myself a couple of times, and I did get other higher numbers .. but 195.2 was the first number I got and I got it more than once.  I told you my scale just likes to throw random numbers at me.  I am taking the 195.2 and claiming it as my own.

That means I have met my second major goal.  The first was to lose 100 pounds, the second was to reach a total of 140.  I am there.  Done.  Met.  w00t!

Now what?  Where do I go from here?  My life is switching over to a maintain mode, so this blog .. will most likely be really .. really boring from here on out.  There is nothing to read about … no goals or milestones left if I am to stay where I am.  The one thing I wanted to do that I have not done is I wanted to post a picture of me in a swimsuit.  I still want to get this done .. but I am going to Florida in November so .. I am thinking I can get it done there and then.

So .. what’s next for this blog?  What will the post schedule look like .. where am I going with this?

I have made a few decisions on that stuff.  First is Post Schedule – I wanted to do this blog for a year, I wanted to show the journey of a man trying to lose 100 pounds over the course of a year.  In 252 days I have lost 140 pounds.  I have roughly 100 days left in the year for posting .. and if I am stopping at 140 and going to try and maintain for a while, then I am done.  I will NOT be posting every weekday anymore.  In fact, the only thing I will be keeping myself to on posts is if I weigh in above 200 at any point, I will blog my daily journey back down to 195.  Other than that, if I am below 200 .. I have no reason to post.

That is not to say I won’t post, I like posting stuff in my life, but this is also part of the test for seeing if I can maintain my weight.  If I am not reminded daily of the weight thing (with having to blog here) will I keep it off?  It’s part of the journey for me .. weening me off the old me and living comfortably in the new me.  So that’s that .. no more posting on a schedule.  The die-hard readers will still get a treat in a shirtless picture of me at some point this year, but you have to be a die-hard I guess.

I want to thank everyone for the support I have gotten, not only from the site comments from time to time, but from the people I see in my day-to-day life.  I have received so many well wishes and compliments along the way .. they all meant and mean a lot to me, and without that support keeping me going who knows where I would be today.

THANK YOU!

I have shown the world, I have shown me that I am way stronger than I thought.  I am a doer.  I took responsibility for myself and changed who I was in 252 days.   I am proud of this journal, this blog, this life-changing log.  I am a new person today because I decided to start this thing.

Am I done yet?  Is this the end of Sam’s journey.  HELL NO.  What this is though is a reality check.  Sam is breaking it off with the blog so he can see if he is strong enough to stand on his own.  I still have some flab to lose, and weight to drop, but I need to know if I can hold what I have already done steady.

I thank you again for reading.  Peace out!

Day 252

3 thoughts on “Day 252

  1. Jason says:

    CONGRATS!!!!!!! That is very very awesome! I know you can keep the path you want, blog or not. I’ll miss reading your thoughts. Good Job!

  2. WDR says:

    You’re simply impressive Sam! I hope you realize that if you can do this, there isn’t anything you can’t do if you decide to. Everything else (after this stupendious weight loss) would just be easier. Again, great job! I’m very proud of you. There’s a whole world out there my friend…

    P.S. I recognize your clever banner for one of your next adventures. That’s Micky’s hat.

  3. Marlene says:

    Sam I liked you when you were 5 and some things never change. I enjoyed your journey, and your blog. Please don’t stop. Wayne is right about one thing, you have more self confidence now and the sky is the limit on what you can achieve. Of course I knew that when you were 5. : ) Run with it!!!

Leave a Reply

